Card carrying Facebook addict….

I admit it. I’m officially a Facebook addict.

I joined Facebook about 6 months ago and for quite awhile didn’t quite get what was so special about it until people I’ve known throughout my life started joining Facebook and “friending” me. I’ve “friended” people I see every day and I’ve friended people I haven’t seen in 25 years (classmates, neighbors, etc). I’m in touch daily with a huge portion of parents in our Cornelia de Lange Syndrome worldwide community through Facebook and we’ve created a “CdLS-KIDS” Facebook group for our email support list. Most importantly, I’ve connected with family members I almost never see anymore….brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, cousins and their kids. We get frequent photos and updates on how their families are doing and they get to keep up on how we are doing. It’s truly amazing how beneficial social networking can be!

I think I’m up to 109 “friends” now. I’ll concede that I haven’t actually met some of my Facebook “friends” in real life, but we share a connection with our kids with CdLS.

I read the other day that Facebook is now the most visited site on the internet. However, I also read that the average Facebook user is generally a 20-something and that people my age aren’t all that into it. I find it hard to believe because most of my Facebook “friends” are around my age and many are even older, including my 60-something MIL.

If you haven’t jumped on the Facebook bandwagon, you should try it. You’ll be surprised at the reconnecting with friends that family that you’ll be able to do.

Can I be your friend?

2 Comments

Filed under Cornelia de Lange Syndrome, Everyday stuff

2 responses to “Card carrying Facebook addict….

  1. i am trying to get the hang of facebook after being so loyal to myspace for so long *they are different, but very similar…if that makes sense*. i have found friends on both sites, old and new. some of my friends are on both and then i have some on one or the other. it is fun! i haven’t been on facebook as much, but hope to start.

    myspace also has a *classmate* list that i think you can view without joining. and there are a several of us cdls’er parents on there as well.

  2. I’ve grown to like facebook more and more. I have connected with people I haven’t heard from in many, many years. My sister got my mom (who is 65) started on it a few weeks ago too so i think it goes for anybody who wants to give it try!

Leave a Reply

