Blog Challenge: Holiday Traditions

Share your family’s favorite holiday traditions and/or winter activities. Tell us a bit about them, such as how they started.

I find it a bit odd I’ve never really thought about this before, but I guess it’s just because it’s the way our lives are.

We only have one holiday tradition and that’s work. When you have a DH in retail it means that the holidays are the busiest time of the year for work and money making. It means there’s little time to engage in traditions.

That said, we know Christmas Day is the one day of the year that we know for sure DH will not have to work and he won’t get work related calls because his 24/7 store closes on Christmas Day. Since I’m moonlighting for DH and Lukas also works for his dad, we know we won’t be working either. That’s a plus! We usually hang out that day, play some board games and eat a big meal. This year we’ll get to celebrate sleeping in as it will be the first Christmas in four years we truly won’t have to work since we delivered papers for the past four Christmases!

I guess if you consider putting up a Christmas tree a tradition, we do at least do that, but frankly, I’m not sure the tree will get put up this year at all. Lukas was home all day babysitting for his sister and brother, and I told them to put up the tree while I was at work, but apparently it wasn’t important to them as it didn’t get done. They’ve always enjoyed doing it and now that they are older I’ve let them take on the task for the past few years, but something might be changing. Maybe they’ll feel the motivation next Sunday.

I usually like to put up Christmas lights outside, too, but since they aren’t up yet, it seems silly to bother at this late date.

Am I a Scrooge or what???

You know what, though…..I actually feel unburdened by letting the traditions go and not letting myself be bothered by the fact that I’m not stressing myself out trying to do things I simply don’t have the energy for. I think I just might enjoy this holiday more than I have in years. Our ‘holiday” will come in January.

PSA: As you engage in the hustle and bustle of Christmas shopping be patient and understanding with all the retail employees you meet. They are working hard and deal with DOZENS (if not hundreds) of Scrooges a day which can really be hard on the spirit. A patient smile from an understanding customer is all we need to keep providing service with a smile. (Off soapbox….)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Blog Challenge: Holiday Traditions

  1. I’ve always maintained that everyone should work in the service field sometime. I worked summers as a caterer and in retail and I learned a lot.

    I’m glad you don’t feel pressured to do things during the holidays.

  2. i am glad that you won’t have to work on Christmas Eve! you are one busy family and I wish you a nice day of relaxation!

  3. I’m so glad you all get Christmas day off! I’m with you on relaxing the holiday standards, it’s often such a relief .

    And yes everyone, please be kind to retail employees – especially this time of year!

  4. I agree ~ I always try to be as kind as I can to retail employees. You’re right ~ one smile or a kind word makes all the difference. I’m happy your family gets Christmas Day off and gets to be together. That sounds great to me!

Leave a Reply

