My CVS Grand Slam

I got myself some deals today!

Yesterday I stocked up on Duracell batteries at CVS. I got $15 ECB when I purchased $20 worth of batteries and I sweetened the deal with two .75 off manufacturers coupons. In the end, I got the batteries for $3.50. I also used $9.50 worth of other ECBS toward this purchase as I had a few other essentials to buy. Yes, chocolate is essential. I bought two bags of Hershey’s Bliss chocolates for 2/$6 and used a $2.50 off coupon.

As a bonus I also received a $10 off a $50 purchase coupon–my excitement for the day!

Today I went back (good thing CVS is on the way home from work!), and rolled my $15 ECB into an Olay purchase. I bought three Olay Regenerists products.

Regenerist 14 Day Intervention Kit – $29.99
Regenerist Night Creme – $20.99
Regenerist Cleanser – $7.99
Total: $58.97

I had coupons for each item–one for $5 off (requested this coupon from Olay.com), and two from the Sunday inserts for $3 each. New total — $47.97.

I bought a few other things including the new Cover Girl mascara which got me a Cover Girl eye liner for free, plus I had a $1 off coupon for the mascara. Cost for both — $7.49 (the eyeliner shelf price was $4.09).

I also got a gallon of Viva milk for $3.49 and had a 50 cents off coupon for that.

Then I rolled my $15 ECB and used my $10 off the $50 purchase coupon.

I got $75.04 worth of stuff for $33.45! Even the register lady was impressed.

That’s not the end of my savings! I’m sending in for the $20 Olay rebate when you buy $50 worth of Olay products. Rebate form is available for download at Olay.com. Once I get the rebate I will have a final cost of $13.45!

Ideally I would have liked to have made my Olay purchases on sale, but I was out of moisturizer and cleanser. I couldn’t really wait at my age.

I’m 41 years old–yes, I NEED the 14 day intervention kit….I’ll let you know how it works….I expect to look 25 in two weeks.

Tomorrow I plan to go back and get the L’Oreal Age Perfect Pro-Calcium moisturizer for “mature, dull skin”. It’s free after ECBs, then I can roll the ECBs into something practical like toothbrush heads for our electric toothbrushes. Boring, but like chocolate, essential.

4 Comments

Filed under Debt-Free Blogs, Everyday stuff

4 responses to “My CVS Grand Slam

  1. Isn’t it fun? I need to do the battery deal, but just have not had a minute!

  2. Maureen

    Wow! You should go on Oprah. She had some woman on the other day who got $100 worth of groceries for $35 or something like that. It sounds like you could give her a run for her money. 🙂

  3. Wow, you got some great deals! I really need to give this CVS thing a try. I just got my $5 coupon from Olay.com (thanks for the link!) so maybe I’ll start with that. My “mature, dull skin” could use some help.

    Oh, when you look 25 two weeks from now, we expect photos to be posted!! 🙂

    And I agree, chocolate is an essential!

  4. What in the heck is an “ECB”?

Leave a Reply

