CdLS Blog Challenge–Public Scrutiny

This week’s CdLS-KIDS Blog Challenge is:

We have all dealt with public scrutiny when out and about with our child
with CdLS. Tell us about your most memorable experience (good, bad, funny, or
downright strange).

I’ve had many brushes with public scrutiny over the 12 years Baylee’s been in our lives. Some of it bad, some funny and many good experiences as well. Most of the time I feel like I’m somewhat “seasoned” as a CdLS parent. I think 12 years of “experience” counts for something and for the most part I’ve got pretty tough skin. But sometimes an experience with a stranger who is a clod really gets the best of me and I chastise myself for not being able to handle it better.

Not too long ago I wrote about an unnerving scrutiny experience here.

Today, though, I’d like to focus on the acts of kindness that we have been on the receiving end of because of Baylee. Like the time a sweet little girl came up to us in a restaurant and wanted to give Baylee a bracelet….a bracelet that she took right off her wrist and handed to Baylee. She thought Baylee might like to have it. How many little girls want to give up their pretty jewelry? At a Rascal Flatts concert we were heading to our seats and a man in a cowboy hat ran up to us and said “Ma’am, I’d like you to have this for your daughter”. It was a guitar pick. We later saw that man up on stage….he was the band’s fiddle player. Then there was the time Baylee threw her DynaMyte communication device in the sink and “washed” it. It was beyond repair. A family in our CdLS group contacted me and said they had one laying around their daughter didn’t need, and they express mailed it to me. Baylee used it for a long time…and fortunately never gave that one a bath! And there’s a neighbor who gave Baylee a practically new beautiful daybed they didn’t need anymore….and the former classmate who brings Baylee carefully chosen birthday gifts and runs out of her house to say hi to Baylee whenever we walk by.

There’s also all the kind people who have come into her life professionally, but still want to be a part of her life even though they are no longer involved with her on a professional basis. And our neighborhood who watched out for Baylee when she used to be a “wanderer” and could climb fences. I’d be frantically searching for her and someone would drop what they were doing and walk her back home. Thankfully we are past that stage!

And lastly, there’s all the new friends we’ve made all over the world that are part of our CdLS family. We’d know none of them if it weren’t for Baylee.

Every time I have a negative experience, I try to think of all the good people in Baylee’s life who take the time to know her and love her unconditionally. I also think about the strangers who wanted to take the time to make Baylee’s day a little bit better. It cancels out all the bad experiences without fail.

6 Comments

Filed under CdLS-KIDS Blog Challenges

6 responses to “CdLS Blog Challenge–Public Scrutiny

  1. Thank you very much for this post. I have been anxiously waiting for people to add their link because I am so interested in this topic.

    I also keep commenting everywhere that I feel anxious about public scrutiny myself partly due to inexperience and also due to my innate shyness. I just don’t like being the center of attention. However, I hope that I can learn to sortof embrace certain aspects of it too.

  2. Thanks for sharing your story. It is amazing how people reach out to our kids and it is always better to focus on the positive experiences.

  3. Thank goodness for the kindness of strangers ~ and also the people that our in our lives because of Joey. One of the things I love now is that when I take Joey to school, all of his classmates say “Hi Joey!” Also when I pick him up they say “Bye Joey” and everyone wants to help push his chair in and out of class. I hope there is never a day when we have to deal with some rude ignorant person. Thanks for the great post.

  4. WOW! thank you so much for posting the positive experiences that you have had!! very touching how others have reached out!! 🙂

  5. Great post Christy! Because the negative scrutiny stings so much, I think we often overlook the positive.

  6. Maureen (Hope's mom)

    This was so nice to read. Thanks for sharing! I totally agree: Focus on the positive.

Leave a Reply

