Simple Pleasures in Life–CdLS Blog Challenge

This week the CdLS-KIDS Blog Challenge is to list our simple pleasures in life.

  • Reading the paper on a Sunday morning with a cup of coffee
  • Runner’s high after a early morning run on a cool morning
  • A hug from my DH
  • A frosty mug of Root Beer
  • A new purse
  • The smell of bread baking
  • The smell and color of a blooming Iris

Heidi, from God’s Grace In Practice asks if we think our pleasures are drawn from more simple things now that we have a children with special needs? I’m not so sure that’s the case for me. I think the enjoyment of simple things has come from my own growth and maturity (if you consider 41 “mature”, that is!). I’m a very different person than I was at 18, 20 or even 30. My values are different and much simpler. Life is so much more than the accumulation of things. I also think living on a budget due to my desire to stay home with my kids when they were younger, and then living our “debt-free journey” has made us more aware of simple pleasures. We still have the debt-free goal in sight, though, so living a cash only life forces one to put more value on the things that money cannot buy. I think I’d be in this same spot with our without Baylee’s special needs in our life. I think discovering the simple things is a part of the process of maturing.

It’s a good thing.

6 Comments

Filed under CdLS-KIDS Blog Challenges, Cornelia de Lange Syndrome

6 responses to “Simple Pleasures in Life–CdLS Blog Challenge

  1. Thank you for answering my question. I really don’t have an expectation of what the answers of different folks might be, but I was quite interested in them.

  2. I agree. I enjoy more of the simple things than ever before, however I have to question also if ’54’ can be considered mature (grin).

  3. Mmmm a frosty mug of rootbeer! Gotta love that!

    I agree, I think as we mature we appreciate the simple things in life more.

    Oh, and I figured you’d get a laugh out of my “cobbler” post…you know all about me and cooking…hehehe!

  4. I agree with you too, the simple things I enjoy now are different than when I was younger. I think it does come from maturing. Gotta love a frosty mug of root beer!

  5. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  6. Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! tmcnt and 6760vsmsffpfky and 8508 : Great!

Leave a Reply

