Our long day is over….

We decided that we’ve had enough paper route. It’s been approximately 1511 consecutive days of getting up at o’ dark thirty. Every.single.day.

It hasn’t been been terrible and most days it is actually quite pleasant, but since Dave broke his leg it’s gotten to be overwhelming. The fatigue has been crushing and I think that like Dave’s broken leg was a sign from God to quit, the fatigue was my sign (probably caused by the fact that I had to do everything around here while Dave was off his feet). Lately it has seemed absurd for me to come home from my part time job in the early afternoon with the sole objective of getting dinner together and going to bed as early as possible. It left little time for anything else. If I took time for anything else I paid for it with a dragging rear end and constant yawning that no amount of coffee could cure the next day.

I will miss it. I will miss the money. But I think we’re going to like having our life back. We’ll have the ability to travel again and see family. Maybe we’ll take a vacation this summer. We’ll get to sleep in on Sundays and snuggle in bed. Hopefully I won’t feel so tired all the time. Maybe I’ll start running again and train for another marathon if my body doesn’t protest too much.

Our last day is Friday. I’m excited for the rest of our lives.

1 Comment

Filed under Newspaper Delivery

One response to “Our long day is over….

  1. I am happy for you – sounds like you made the best decision for your family and yourself. Have a great summer!

Leave a Reply

